Schwinn Classic Build

GoldenMotor.com

Moustache

Oct 21, 2010
Annapolis, MD
Here is the rear running light i made out of a plastic Showerhead from Home Depot, Battery pack from a smoke alarm, and a switch from True Value. Stopping by my Harley Dealer today to get a smoked turn signal cover for it.

silverbear

The Boy Who Never Grew Up
Jul 9, 2009
northeastern Minnesota
Nice old cantilever Schwinn. You have a lot of room in that frame for a motor, even a four stroke Greyhound will fit in there. Clever rear light, too!
I lived in Annapolis at one time, many years ago when I was a high school teacher in Anne Arundel County. Nice city with very narrow streets in the old part of town. I liked the water front. I spend winters now in northern Maryland, north of Frederick. Welcome to the forum.
SB

Moustache

Oct 21, 2010
Annapolis, MD
Silverbear - Thanks for the compliments, It took a TON of sanding and grinding to clean up the frame before painting. I grew up in Eastport but now I live right outside of Annapolis near the Bay bridge. Planning on taking this thing into town on a regular basis up and down those narrow streets when im finished .wee.

Bike Monster - Ape Hangers and a springer fork are going to be added after i get the engine.

Any suggestions on an Engine kit? I'm looking for a reliable, powerful engine that wont require too much fabrication to fit. I would love to do a Lifan or Pirannah 4 stroke Auto Motors, But i do not know how to weld and it would require alot of modification to fit.

silverbear

Jul 9, 2009
northeastern Minnesota
Well, it looks to me like ytou enjoy fabricating and making it your own, so as far as recommendations for a motor... if you want to go four stroke and do it on a budget, check out a thread I'm doing right now on the same frame you have...
http://motorbicycling.com/f37/greyhound-51-schwinn-cantilever-build-25200.html#post234852
No frame modifications or welding is involved.