Good Afternoon

GoldenMotor.com

69mach351

Aug 3, 2013
Midwest
Good afternoon from the Midwest! I am a newbie from all aspects here and bought a motor kit from Ebay (from luckyearlybird) after reading about the seller in one of the threads here. It is set to arrive Thursday, but I am still shopping for a bike to use it on. I am torn between a cheaper wal-mart bike (like a cruiser style - genesis onyx or schwinn) or a better brand off of craigslist with unknown history or problems. I am a bigger guy with some experience on bicycles and some on motorcycles. I plan on using this for fun and possibly to ride to work (5-6 miles with some hills) on nice days.

Any help or recommendations are appreciated. I will likely lurk and pick up bits of information.

Thanks!

maniac57

Old, Fat, and still faster than you
Oct 8, 2011
memphis Tn
Good afternoon from the Midwest! I am a newbie from all aspects here and bought a motor kit from Ebay (from luckyearlybird) after reading about the seller in one of the threads here. It is set to arrive Thursday, but I am still shopping for a bike to use it on. I am torn between a cheaper wal-mart bike (like a cruiser style - genesis onyx or schwinn) or a better brand off of craigslist with unknown history or problems. I am a bigger guy with some experience on bicycles and some on motorcycles. I plan on using this for fun and possibly to ride to work (5-6 miles with some hills) on nice days.

Any help or recommendations are appreciated. I will likely lurk and pick up bits of information.

Thanks!
The Genesis 29'ers are harder to build and require much more modification to mount the kit compared to most 26'ers
The walmart cruisers are decent bikes mostly, but nothing like as good build quality as most older quality shop brand bikes
The used bike route is much better in my opinion, especially if you have some bike experience. You can get MUCH better equipment for your money.