How to troubleshoot CDI/Magneto when no spark

GoldenMotor.com

cpav13

May 18, 2008
Hello all!

This is my first post. I picked up a used motor/bike at a sale this weekend (a King's Motor Bike Kit 80cc? I think), and it was in need of some serious TLC. However, for $15 I wasn't going to pass it up. I've mounted everything properly (which it wasn't before) and took it out for a spin. No spark.

I started at the beginning, taping my volt meter to the lines coming out of the magneto and went for a ride, and got a wide range of voltages (usually 3-4, only occasionally higher. I don't know if that is right. Seemed low, but I'm new to this engine. Additionally, the PO had lost the plug wire, so I bought a standard auto one and a like spark plug. Could my CDI be dead? Does anyone know a good way to check a CDI (ohms metering or something?).

Here's some pics of the new toy! Picasa Web Albums - cory - Chinese Motor...

Pablo

Master Bike Builder & Forum Sponsor
Dec 28, 2007
Duvall, WA PNW
www.sickbikeparts.com
Don't expect much in the way of voltmeter readings from the mag. What did you have the meter set on?

It does sound like you have a pulse. Good thing.

Take the plug out, so you can turn the engine over easy. Spin the rear wheel (in gear).....

So you get zero spark with a spark tester/grounded plug with a very small (.015") gap?

cpav13

May 18, 2008
Thanks for the follow up. Here's the answers:

I had the volt meter set in the 20V range. I was *mistakenly* thinking I was looking for 12V.

Let me adjust the gap when I get home and see. I didn't have a gap spec, but I couldn't get either the old or the new plug to spark. I am also not familiar with a spark tester. Would you suggest the easiest way is to just touch the side of the plug to an exposed part of the frame while cranking?

Can I put my meter on the output side of the CDI and expect to see anything? Do you know the Volt range I might see?