New build- Full suspension mountain bike

GoldenMotor.com

darkness

Mar 29, 2012
Oregon
.bf.Hey guys. Im a newbie to the site.

My last build was a road bike. It was an older non- descript bike (not even sure of the brand, no labeling) which i chose mainly for its light weight cause i thought it would be faster. Unfortunately, i was riding along an old logging road by my house and i hit a pot hole and somehow the bolt which secures the handlebars snapped, sending the front wheel completely sideways, and me flying ( i was going downhill probably 25+ mph) into the gravel road. I sprained my wrist, bruised my legs very badly, skinned both my hands down close to bone practically, hit my head really hard (even with a helmet) and havent thought about putting a new bike together for over a year now.

But seeing a full suspension motorized mountain bike online got me thinking. Looks like a lot fun. I have a lot of nearby trails to ride, through the forest.

Due to the fact that my motor was not damaged at all by the wreck, i think i will make my new project a full suspension mountain bike. So i was just wondering, what are some things i need to know about installing an 80cc (66cc) RAW motor on a fully suspended mountain bike? Is there anything i should be concerned about? is it even feasible without major alteration? and i was thinking about converting to a single speed, to get rid of the shifter.bf..bf. (less clutter on the handlebars), is that a good idea?

rustycase

Gutter Rider
May 26, 2011
Left coast
Welcome aboard!

Gosh, glad you made it through the wreck...
I've only taken 1 spill, so far, and it was at very slow speed, right in my own driveway!

There's a few full suspension mabs here. It's definitely more work, but well worth it if you really need it.

Time well spent to read through a bunch of the threads to get information.

Best
rc

darkness

Mar 29, 2012
Oregon
Thanks Rustycase,