Homemade Reed Valve on Cheap

GoldenMotor.com

Pitchfork311

Apr 29, 2009
Tucson, AZ
After seeing Sharkcruiser's thread Reed Valve on the cheap, I was inspire to do one myself. So I bought a cheap chainsaw reed valve, 8$ and am going to machine a plate that will go between the reed valve and the engine. It will be one piece and bolt right to everything. Of course, I am going to have ti figure out a new intake as well so this project will take a few weeks.

What you guys think,

Pic of the valve I picked up.

Attachments

sharkcruiser

Jul 14, 2008
charleston sc
I think thats great! I am no mechanical engineer but the valve I used came from an engine that was exactly half the cc's but turned twice as many rpm's and made twice the HP. It really helped the reliability of my tired old engine and after rejetting the carb, it made a tremendous difference in the low and mid range power. Can not wait to see how yours turns out. Good luck! Watch out for the bugs you'll catch from the huge grin you'll be wearing!

Pitchfork311

Apr 29, 2009
Tucson, AZ
Well, I have been incredibly busy with work, this project ended up getting put aside for the last few weeks. Well, I am hoping to get back to it sometime this week :) I still cannot wait to put it on my bike, after reading all about your gains shark

sharkcruiser

Jul 14, 2008
charleston sc
That sounds great, I can not wait to hear about your experience. I am breaking in a new motor currently and I plan on doing a port job on the cylinder with the reed on it and switching the whole thing over to the new bottom end.
Where I live it has been about 100 degrees and 95% humidity so I haven't been riding that much. Keep us posted!

Pitchfork311

Apr 29, 2009
Tucson, AZ