john from north dakota

GoldenMotor.com

johnmartinwright

Jul 11, 2009
harvey, nd
hello everybody am new to this have 80cc engine strapped to my mountain bike have engine broken in and have been riding the crap outta this brnot the only problem of late has been the cheap chain tensioner provided with the kit i ordered from bike engine.com everything has been working perfectly but this one part has my bike shut down for the time being:-|| anyway love to know that this forum and additional help plus newer and better ideas are near at hand thank you for reading this and will look for your suggestions and help with this particular problem that i have at this time

Matheneyr3

Jun 4, 2009
Carolinas
Welcome!!

Search, John, Search the threads through and through... Myself, I have modified a Chain Deraileur to suit the job on my bike- works great! Many of the great folks here have similar soloutions to the same problem.

Again, Welcome!

upsrogue

Jul 14, 2009
Arizona
Hi John
I'm new to the forum but I had the same pain too and looks like everybody else from looking at the the threads.
I just did away with the tensioner, chucked it, and took my chain down link by link (about 4 links) with a tool made to do this with (my dad years ago gave it to me, don't know where you can buy one probably a industrial supply) anyway I was able to put the chain on using the master link but it was still to tight so I took the engine off the frame and there is a "block" as part of the rear engine mount that slides on the two bolts threaded into the engine block. I filed on the flat side of that engine mount block about a 1/4" off with a file and put it all back together and had just the right amount of slack in the chain and it works perfect. When I need to take the chain off I just take off the master link.
The way I see it if you have the proper amount of slack in the chain for operation you don't need a cheap chain tensioner that does'nt work right anyway. Right!!

Finfan

Aug 29, 2008