Bicycle that will fit "Silver Slant"

GoldenMotor.com

Garbag3man117

Jul 10, 2011
Lafayette, IN
Hi, I'm new to motorized bicycles. I'd never seen one until my neighbor built one, and now I'm trying to make one. The motor I'm going to buy is here.

It's called the "Silver Slant", but in doing some research found that it is also called the "Jet 48cc Slant head (Silver finish)" Has anyone had experience with this motor? After I buy the motor, I'll have about 80 dollars to spend on the bike. I make 40 dollars a week right now. Can anyone point me to a bicycle that will fit this motor, for around 100 dollars? There's a lot of other information on that website about the motors. Thanks in advanced.

MarkSumpter

Nov 27, 2010
Ohio
Huffy Cranbrook at wally world is a good frame for $89 but you will want to upgrade the wheels and rims later as they are the weakest part of the bike. But it is an easy build for that engine.

Al.Fisherman

Sep 9, 2009
Calera, Alabama
I've made a nice build out of a China Mart bike......This cost less then $300.00 including all the modifications I made to the engine....
Here is a good read...
These are the things that I do, I see that others such as the seals (which I've never had one go bad) mentioned. All these mods or replacements are most likely less then $50.00 (if done yourself). Choose what works for you, ignore the rest, but here you have them.

1. Unpack engine
2. Check for any missing parts
3. Remove head
4. Mill head (flat glass and 230 (or finer) grit sand paper. Rub gasket surface to insure it is flat. Check the cylinder also.
5. Tap cylinder stud holes to insure they are taped to the bottom.
6. Discard all studs and nuts.
7. Replace studs with Metric 8.8 (US Grade 5) Replace nuts with locking nuts. 8mm studs are either 1.0 or 1.25 thread, 6mm studs are 1.0 thread. 8mmX1.0 is not common, but I have 1 engine with them.
8. Replace spark plug with a NGK or the like.