Felt Twin 4 stroke build

GoldenMotor.com

SD moto man

Aug 27, 2011
San Diego
I just started my build today and though I would post a few pictures of what I have so far. It's a Felt Twin, the coolest bike I have ever owned. I have been dreaming of riding one of these for a while, and I finally just gave in and decided to do it. I bought a set of Monarch forks and a disc brake kit for a beefed up front end. I just got my front wheel rebuilt with the new hub and spokes for the disc set up and it's ready to be installed once I get the tank sealed.

The first part of the build will be sealing the top tube for an in-frame gas tank. I bought the bung and cap from a place that makes them just for the Felts, so it's a perfect fit. I drilled the fill hole tonight, and tomorrow will be sealing the front holes with JB weld and prepping it for the Caswell sealer. I was a little nervous to do the tank myself as I've never done anything like this before, but so far, so good. The hard part is yet to come though...

Attachments

ocho ninja

Jan 14, 2012
San Jose, CA
Nice build, and beautiful looking bike.
I wanted to build a felt bike, but was discouraged by steps needed to make the inframe tank. But your giving me new hope lol

Keep us posted with pics and progress

SD moto man

Aug 27, 2011
San Diego
Thanks. There is definitely a lot of work going into the tank part, but it will payoff when it's done. I was considering having a shop do it, until I found out they charge around $400! I didn't have any supplies, so I have spent about $125 on the cap and bung, sealer, and the cutting drill bits. Overall, far cheaper to do it yourself.

The Caswell sealer is in the mail, so I'll post a few more pictures once I get it sealed up.

ocho ninja

Jan 14, 2012
San Jose, CA
Yea I know I figuring out the costs and tools needed, but I also had conflicting feelings about drilling into a nice new frame lol
The felt frames are aluminum right?

SD moto man

Aug 27, 2011
San Diego