Capacitors and SLAs

GoldenMotor.com

cannonball2

Oct 28, 2010
Colonial Coast USA.
Some where I read of adding capacitors to SLA batteries to improve performance. Would some one explain the advantage ,what caps to use, wiring, etc.

Thanks!

bluegoatwoods

Jul 29, 2012
Central Illinois
I suppose Theon is on the right track. I've never heard of this but I'd speculate that the 'advantage' might be the ability of the capacitor to store energy from the battery then give it up quickly when needed without overheating and destroying itself.

But I'm sure you couldn't get any effect from a capacitor like type that is to be found in small electronics. They couldn't possibly hold enough charge to be of any use.

A capacitor that would actually hold any usable amount would probably be as big as your bike.

I'm no expert on this. But I'll bet I'm in the right ballpark.

Last edited:

cannonball2

Oct 28, 2010
Colonial Coast USA.
Cant remember where I read on this but the jist was it was a form protection against to high a momentary amp draw which is hard on SLAs. I don't think it added much capacity. I would think caps similar to those used to start electric motors might have been used. Seemed the article I read also indicated a more regulated voltage from the battery bank. If the caps were similar to motor start units then they would be small enough to be practical to use.

bluegoatwoods

Jul 29, 2012
Central Illinois
Cant remember where I read on this but the jist was it was a form protection against to high a momentary amp draw which is hard on SLAs. I don't think it added much capacity. I would think caps similar to those used to start electric motors might have been used. Seemed the article I read also indicated a more regulated voltage from the battery bank. If the caps were similar to motor start units then they would be small enough to be practical to use.
This would certainly seem to make sense.