overkill pusher trailer

GoldenMotor.com

Dawud

Aug 23, 2009
Prescott, Arizona
hey everybody, my name is David and I'm from Arizona. I have had a motorized bicycle for some time. Don't get me wrong, I like the mid-frame Chinese engines, but there wear characteristics, power band, and two-stroke sound has left me wanting more. Right now I have a 66 cc mainframe engine run to a 36 tooth rear sprocket on the 26 inch wheel. I want to build something with more torque.

I have on hand a motor that most people would consider overkill for pusher trailer, but this would be for "off road" use only. The motor have on hand is a 10 hp Yanmar diesel. Dry weight the engine weighs 121 pounds. It has a 1 inch in diameter driveshaft with the quarter-inch keyway. I know I will have to build a heavy-duty trailer, but this is also a project to test alternative fuels for diesel and the fuel efficiency for the weight of the bicycle. I've never built the bicycle trailer before, but I am eager to learn. The maximum RPM for the engine is rated at 3600 with a comfortable speed of approximately 3000. to be quite honest, I haven't a clue as to what gear ratio to put in, or where to get the drive parts for the project so any advice and information would be helpful.

I hope this isn't too much to ask.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

David

denbecr

Oct 21, 2008
Illinois
Play with the gear ratio calculator at the beginning of this DIY forum's index.
My approach is to calculate how fast the vehicle would go if the wheel was directly attached to the engine's drive shaft then divide that speed by a reasonably expected speed and you'll have your overall ratio.