head bolts

GoldenMotor.com

ZOOMCAT

Mar 14, 2008
i bought my first bike motor it is a 70cc that i got on ebay' do they torque the head bolts at the factory or is that your job to do there seems to be gas in the spark plug is this good. and i am a newbie to this and i love it all your guys bikes look THE BOMB!!!!! thanks zoomcat:ride2:

Bikeguy Joe

Godfather of Motorized Bicycles
Jan 8, 2008
up north now
Welcome to the forum.

Generally, they are torqued at the factory. However, it's not a bad idea to check them especially after you've run it a few hours.

Find/borrow/buy a torque wrench. 15-20 ft. lbs. is the range you want to be in.

As for the gas in the plug...as long as it runs well, and the plug is a nice coffe/chocolate brown you are in good shape. If it seem to have a little gas on it, I wouldn't worry about it.

deacon

minor bike philosopher
Jan 15, 2008
north carolina
Mine were torqued at the factory. Of course I screwed up the install and had to pull the head to correct it. So I can't say for sure but I think they are. If you have a torque wrench laying about it cant hurt to check them though. It should be 110 to 120 i'm told.

Bikeguy Joe

Godfather of Motorized Bicycles
Jan 8, 2008
up north now
Just to clarify-

110-120 in. oz. is in the same ball park as 12-15 ft. lbs.

If you don't have a torque wrench, use a 3/8" drive rachet and hold it so the rachet part is in your palm, not the handle and tighten it "pretty snug" that way.

These head bolts have been know to pull the metal out of the base if overtightened.

A little too loose will blow a head gasket (big deal) too tight will pull the threads and then you've got a mess.

Botttom line is don't worry about it unless you have a problem or the head needs to come off.

Norman

LORD VADER Moderator
Jan 16, 2008
pampa texas
Zoom