California Motor bicycle Law

GoldenMotor.com
Status
Not open for further replies.

MotorbikeMike

Dealer
Dec 29, 2007
Sacramento
Hi all, in CA. there is no such thing (currently) as a Motor Assisted Bicycle. All Motor-Bicycles are to be registered as a Moped.

The easiest way to understand this is the DMV website, under License plates, Moped.

To make this easier to understand, I have done all these things. I mailed and recieved and mounted 2 moped plates, one for Wifey's Whizzer and one for mine. If you-all like I will post pics.

The State of Kalifornika form is named REG230 and is a downloadable pdf form. I reccomend to all my Whizzer (street legal DOT, EPA, and CARB legal bikes), and owner/buyers of any other of the bicycle engines that I've been selling for about 7 years now, to do this form. I give them the form.

1) Put bicycle serial number in the vin slot (Whiz has VIN)
2) Put engine serial number in the engine slot (if not numbered like the Whizzer is, then stamp one, illegal technically, but who is to know?)
3) put bicycle and engine name in the Make slot ie Roadmaster/Skyhawk
4) answer all four questions correctly
5) sign and date
6) in envelope with check to DMV for 18.00
7) put the cotton-pickin thing in the mail, do NOT confuse the local DMV by going there with your bike, or even asking them any questions!!!

Getting your license.
This time show up at DMV, and ask to take motorcycle exam I think mine was 25.00 (you DID study, didn't you???) The motorcycle handbook is online and easily found.
IF a certain number of months have passed since your last C (auto) exam has passed you will also have to take the front page of the C.
Miss less than 5 questions (each test), and they will issue a computer print-out to carry along with your license. You have up to one year to do the agility course and get full license endorsement.

Restrictions
No night riding, no freeway riding, no carring passenger.

Agility test