leaky carb + death

GoldenMotor.com

joeblow

Sep 27, 2008
Hi,
I am pretty new to all this bike building stuff, and I have learned a lot through broken, crappy
parts. My latest is the Carburetor. I was riding for about six or so miles and then the engine
stopped because I am not good at starting again from a stop.

After that the engine sounded very muffled and it would no longer accelerate. The throttle
would make it groan a little, but it mostly sounded like it was dying. After I pedaled the last
block home, I discovered gas pouring out of my carb. I had to turn the petcock from the tank
to stop it.
When it was hot I could still start it, but it would not accelerate, and it sounds like it is under
water. I don't know about now, this was earlier today.

any advice anyone?

joeblow

Sep 27, 2008
ok, does that mean I have to take it apart and fix it? I really hope not...

Bikeguy Joe

Godfather of Motorized Bicycles
Jan 8, 2008
up north now
First, tap on the carb with something like a screw driver or small rock. If that doesn't fix it, then yes, you'll have a little work ahead of you. But it is simple work.

joeblow

Sep 27, 2008
Ok,
so I rode the thing today, and just to get the gas out of the line I started it up. It was working well and accelerated it. I rode to my new place and stopped. After about 30 seconds gas started pouring out of the carb again and I had to turn the petcock to stock the flow.
Is this still the floater? (I hit it with a broken tile, btw. still leaked, but maybe it did something since it ran.) do I just have to turn the petcock everytime I finish riding?

joeblow

Sep 27, 2008
I think hitting it with the rock was the right move. that made it able to go, and after riding it a little bit more the leak seems to have stopped itself.

Bikeguy Joe

Godfather of Motorized Bicycles
Jan 8, 2008
up north now
Yeah, it used up the extra gas in the carb.

Keep an eye on it.

It's always a good idea to shut off the fuel when not in use.

Norman