Help.. just bought it...What year is this Elgin?

GoldenMotor.com

silverbear

The Boy Who Never Grew Up
Jul 9, 2009
northeastern Minnesota
I just won a low ball bid on this old Elgin step through off of ebay. Since it has the rear kick stand I want to make a copy of it and sell the original stand... just saw a stand sell on ebay for 99.00. If I can come close to that then it will have paid for the bike (81.00) and part of the shipping. Anyway, here are a couple pictures to help identify it. The chain guard is distinctive and it has no fender skirts. It will get a motor and do-over this coming summer. If anyone can give me an approximate year I'd appreciate it. I did some looking on google without luck.
SB

Attachments

lobsterboyx

Dec 20, 2008
Los Angeles
Your best bet to pin down the exact year is to post on the CABE.. but my guess is 39-41 due to the front sprocket and the fork. id like to see some better pics too. Dont view me as an expert, i literally picked up my first elgin a few weeks ago

silverbear

Jul 9, 2009
northeastern Minnesota
Oh, that's a nice one you have there. I hope you'll post more photos.
What I posted on the step through are screen shots from the auction, so anything better will have to wait until the bike is in hand. There is a book available on Elgins and Hiawathas, but it is out of stock at a supplier on line ($20.00) and I am waiting. There is someone on ebay selling the same reference book for $30.00 not counting shipping, but $10.00 bucks is ten bucks and I'll wait.
Is that original paint on yours? What are your plans for it? I like that frame. What year?
I understand that if the Elgin headbadge is present then it is prewar, as Sears switched over to the name J.C.Higgins after WWII. If that is true, then if it says Elgin, it is pre war. I hope to compare notes with you in the future. I sure like these old Elgins.
SB

silverbear

Jul 9, 2009
northeastern Minnesota