starting my first project soon

GoldenMotor.com

goat88

Jun 11, 2010
kansas
i stumbled upon the motorized bikes a couple weeks back and they fascinated me, i have a 26" roadmaster mountain bike and have ordered the flying horse engine kit from bikeberry, i found a thread in here of someone who did the same thing with a roadmaster bike but had some issues with the fitting, from the dimensions shown on bikeberry it looks like everything will clear it, any thoughts, opinions, and advice about this build would be appreciated, kit should be here by next week cant wait to start :)

Flounder

May 26, 2010
Jacksonville Beach
I just finished my first build, here's my 2 cents. lol ... Down load your kit instructions and read them three time's to get familiar with the kit.. Then search the forum for "Blue printing motors or dressing the motor" 2 important things dont overlook during your build.. 1st make sure the motor is plumb to the bike frame..If it is tilted your drive sprocket will not be true with the rear sprocket.. Throwing your chain out of alignment.. 2nd Make sure to put on the chain tensioner on tight ..If its not snug and your chain comes off it can whip it down into your spokes and trash the rear wheel... Chain and sprocket alignment is a must.. If its making a clicking noise, then its probably not aligned... when you mount the motor test fit it first and if your happy use some self penetrating thread locker on the nuts
"I used the green stuff" but not till your ready.. I also adjusted my carb throttle cable before I put it on.. Run the cable for your throttle like you want it, then adjust it till you get a little more then an 1/8th gap for the sliding barrel inside the carb. Also Dont forget to clean out the tank if it needs it and invest in a cheap paper gas filter for extra protection.... Well there's my newbie crash course .. I hope it helps.

1st build link http://motorbicycling.com/showthread.php?t=51452