Easy, Cheap electric super charger?!?!?!?!

GoldenMotor.com

littleman456

Sep 10, 2009
Minnesota
So I read about an idea to make a super easy super charger awhile ago on another forum that i totally forgot about until today. The basic idea was to take an edf, a type of small electric motor most commonly used in r/c jet planes and connect it to your intake.... The more I thought of this the more I thought it could be possible. All you would have to do would be to connect the edf to a lighting coil on your engine and somehow connect it in between the air filter and carb right? Or if a lighting coil didn't have the right current/volts you could somehow connect an alternator to the engine... Any input would be great since i'm no mechanic or electronics engineer by any means.

Oh and here is a link to what i'm talking about,
HobbyKing Online R/C Hobby Store : Hardware & accessories.>EDF System & Parts

littleman456

Sep 10, 2009
Minnesota
I know that a super/turbocahrger would not work on a Chinese two stroke...at least it would probably not be worth it. i guess i should have specified I would be putting it on a four stroke from anywhere between 50 and 200cc's

Erich_870

Dec 4, 2009
Alaska
It looks like you're headed in the right direction with this EDF, but the question still remains if they are powerful enough to produce the flow and pressures necessary to see power gains.

The link Goat Herder posted has some information about the pressures needed.

Here's what thee "Supercharged Honda 50 Racing" article says about electric super chargers: http://thekneeslider.com/archives/2009/01/13/supercharged-honda-50-racing/

Electrical Super Chargers