NT carb adjustment help

GoldenMotor.com

Trevorsking

Aug 23, 2012
Fredericksburg, VA
Hey Motorheads,

I am new to this craze, I have a 66cc/NT carb/44 tooth sprocket kit installed on a Nel Lusso Huffy. Now I know I have read a thread concerning the jet adjustment for the NT carb but for the life of me I can't locate it. I have adjusted my jet down one slot, in order to try to eliminate a bog at accelerating from a dead stop. I do pedal a little (not sure which is the proper way to take off, pedal or no pedal) Can some one direct me to the thread or tell me the anticipated results from adjusting the jets up (from preset middle) or down on the jets

Thanks

Ron

maurtis

Dec 14, 2011
Kyle, TX
On the NT carb, you basically have two main adjustments, the needle and the main jet. The needle has the clip on it (which you are adjusting) and affects from idle to about 3/4 throttle. The main jet alone affects the throttle from 3/4 to fully open.

For the needle, moving the clip closer to the top makes the mix leaner, closer to the bottom is richer. During break-in, my bike ran best at the leanest setting, then after a few hundred miles I find the second to top slot the best for me.

The main jet stock is about a 70. On my 66cc HT that was a little rich and would 4 stroke at high RPM. Going to a 68 jet makes it so I am not 4 stroking any more once warmed up.

There are tons of threads on NT tuning, I am sure you will find them in no time.

As for pedaling or not from a stop, it depends. If you are pretty light and do not mind changing clutch pads fairly often (it is really easy), you can slip the clutch to get rolling. There are those on these forums that do. BUT, the clutches on these motors are crap and not really meant to be used like that, in my opinion. Pedaling to about 10 MPH before releasing the clutch is how most people with manual clutches roll.