From lawnmower to bike, CAN SOMEONE HELP?

GoldenMotor.com
Aug 23, 2009
British Columbia
Hello, I have been given a Briggs and Stratton 4HP lawnmower that won't start. I first need to figure out what's wrong with the engine, then I need to figure out how to get this engine on my bicycle. I'm new to 4-stroke engines, I've been riding the two stroke kits only. My two strokes are out of action right now, and I'm low on funds, so this would be a good way for me to get back on the bike. Here's my observations of the engine, still on the mower, trying to start it normally. There is a lot of leakage of either fuel or oil where the canisters are. This is the same place the primer is, and the throttle lever? The fuel tank and oil tank are loose on the engine, missing a mounting bolt it looks like. This is likely where the problem is? and the carb will likely need a serious cleaning? It's the kind of mower that you have to hold the bar lever on the handle down, (the kill switch bar in case you let go of the mower). When I pull the starter cord, it turns no problem, however, I can't tell if there is spark, and I can hear a metal "tinging" sound echoing within the sound of the turning engine. Perhaps this is just the loose tanks rattling? It doesn't sputter, or seem like there is spark, just turns with the momentum of me pulling the starter cord.

I haven't looked at it much, as I said, I just got it, and it's still technically a lawn mower. I figure I should get it working as a mower, before I dismantle and try to install on my bike, for it may end up way more frustrating, or not possible at all.

Any suggestions on repairing this engine? Any advice to offer?

How is the engine best removed from the mower? Is there anything I should be aware of when removing the engine?