Need Basic Help Mounting Flying Horse onto Huffy Deluxe

GoldenMotor.com

Panama

Feb 5, 2015
El Giral, Panama
Hi everyone, my name is Steve and I am a noob when it comes to motorized bicycles. I would like some advice mounting a Flying Horse 66/80 cc onto a Huffy Deluxe Beach Cruiser. I know the choice of bike is less than ideal but it is what I could find without spending a fortune because I am currently in rural Panama, where options are limited. I am a field biologist working on a PhD and need a cheap way to get between my housing and my field site, about 6 miles away. The route includes substantial elevation change, hence the desire for a motor.

My questions can probably best be answered by someone who has used this same bike/engine combo. I had some initial concerns that I screwed myself by buying a bike that wouldn't work, but I found a few other mentions of people using the Huffy Deluxe. Here are my questions thus far:

1. Engine mounting: It appears that the frame style (bottom tube diameter and general tube angle) will require me to get additional mounting parts, like the JNM vibration motor mounts. Otherwise, there does not appear to be enough space to fit the engine above the regular chain guard. Any insights or suggestions of a work-around?

2. Coaster break: I put the sprocket on the rear wheel and it doesn't seem to fit snugly around the coaster break base, meaning that the coast break won't clear the inner rim of the sprocket. Have others ditched the coaster brake as well?

3. I figure I need caliper brakes anyway because of the very steep hills I will be going down. Any recommendations on caliper breaks?

4. I had some concerns about the wide tires on this bike, which make it appear that there will a very tight fit for the chain coming and going from the sprocket. Is there enough space for the chain without further modification? Is this just a matter of getting idler/pulley in the right position?