newbie needs help

GoldenMotor.com

TheBlueDeMond

Nov 14, 2013
meridian idaho
Hey guys I'm new to all this and am trying to put my first engine on a bike. Ive got everything mounted and thought I was good to go so I added fuel (20:1 mix) and took it out for a test ride and..... nothing. It won't start so I was checking things and it seems to be getting fuel to the engine but as I checked the electrical stuff I don't think the spark plug is creating a spark. I checked on here and it seemed an NGK B6HS plug was pretty common to replace it with but when I went to AutoZone they didn't have any in stock so he gave me a champion brand one that he said should work just as well. So does any one have any idea what it might be? I'm thinking either a bad spark plug or something with the CDI/wiring. Thanks guys.

bluegoatwoods

Jul 29, 2012
Central Illinois
Re: newboe needs help

You'd best start with the basics. Double-check that your magneto is securely wired to the CDI and the spark plug wire is securely fastened to the CDI. "Securely" is meant in the electrical, but also mechanical, sense. You want to be sure there's no open circuit there.

If that doesn't get you some spark, then start searching threads for 'troubleshooting magneto' or something like that.

You can also come back to this thread and ask for further help, of course. But searching other threads for your info is always good practice.

wheelbender6

Sep 4, 2008
TX
Disconnect the kill switch from ground. The kill switches that are built into the kit throttles are notorious for failure.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado