Engine Won't Fit Frame

GoldenMotor.com

Salvor6

Jan 30, 2013
Pinellas Park, FL
I bought the bicycle first for $45 used. Then I saw the engine kits on Craigslist while looking for bike parts. So I bought an engine kit. The radius at the front motor mount would not fit my 42mm front downtube so I had to machine the front end. Lucky, I'm a machinist and have a mill in my garage. The carb cable will not fit under the top main tube so I had to tilt it. This is supposed to be a 26" bike. Is it a 24" that someone put 26" tires on? Why is the frame so small? :-||

Mr. Minecraft

Visionary
Jan 13, 2012
San Diego
Few things to help us out.

1. Bike brand/model etc.

2. Pictures, pictures, pictures!

I always buy the engine first then I actually BRING the engine with me when i go bike shopping and I just check to make sure it all fits.

As far as the carb goes you will need to buy an offset manifold, or even better make your own that fits the way you want it (you are a machinist :))

Best of luck!
-Chris

jji7skyline

Jan 15, 2013
Australia
To make it easier for short people to swing their leg over the frame and get on the bicycle. Same reason women's bicycles are rarely a proper v-frame.

I've tilted my engine slightly, then taken the air filter off the carb. The engine runs great without the filter (no restrictions, my area isn't dusty either), The spark plug just sits beside the top frame bar.

No problems other than the chain falling off, which I promptly fixed by adjusting the tensioner. No problems since.

TRAX

Nov 4, 2008
CT