So close- possibly a carb problem?

GoldenMotor.com

roswen

Jul 22, 2012
Chicago
Hey guys,

This is my first build and I apologize if there is an obvious answer to this question but I'm completely stumped.

When I get up to speed and release the clutch, I hear engine sounds which slowly die down as the speed decreases. The engine is a little warm afterwards, but I'm not sure if thats from it actually running or just the friction of an unlubricated cylinder.

I have checked for spark and that doesn't seem to be the issue. There is a faint smell of gas after I run it so I suppose it might be getting fuel through, but just not sustaining it. I'm not 100 percent sure though.

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated!

tooljunkie

Apr 4, 2012
Manitoba,Canada
when i first started mine,it took quite a bit of coaxing,between choke and throttle i got it to run.if the engine is warm,there would have been some combustion.
it would start to fire,than i would turn off choke and slowly roll on the throttle.once it seems like its running,i pull in the clutch and let it warm up a little.

if it doesent want to go,perhaps you need to pull spark plug.
if its wet,it is flooded. the smell of gas is an indicator its flooded.
also,the plug wire boot is designed to have no tip on the spark plug,it unthreads with pliers if its too tight.then the plug wire will fit on the threaded part.

nightcruiser

Mar 25, 2011
USA
What carb do you have? That's important info....