• I rarely wear a helmet when riding

Votes: 11 5.5%
  • I just man it without one on

Votes: 22 11.1%

• Total voters

Texhun

Aug 2, 2011
Rosebud Texas
I've been riding for over 2 years now and have 2 two helmets but have only worn them 3-4 times so-far. I'm pretty used to riding with no helmet but I still get a little cringy now and then without one on. I mainly don't wear one just because each time I ride in town (when not cruising) I ride for maybe 2 minutes. I'll also wear one when I want to turn some heads. So that's my deal. What about you guys?

Last edited:

Dave31

Mar 1, 2008
Aztlán, Arizona
If I go down my street or around the neighborhood for a quick spin sometimes I do not wear my helmet.

But if I go anywhere outside the neighborhood I always wear my helmet and my safety vest.

Reactions: Smith80

The_Aleman

Jul 31, 2008
el People's Republik de Kalifornistan
I didn't use a helmet for my first 2 years. Not even a bicycle helmet. I lived in ND at the time and there was no helmet laws unless you were a kid.
When I moved back to Cali in 2008 I wore a bicycle helmet and always pedaled, didn't get a real-ish helmet until I started riding with others.
Ironically, I also lowered my cruising speed by 10MPH. When I lived in ND I rode fast all the time because the roads were straight and traffic was light.

Some would say you bumped your head anyway if you're non-caging without a helmet. Ofc you can split your head open at any time.
What-ifs can kill ya anyway if you let em get to you. But don't leave the people who love ya prematurely in a Darwinian fashion :D

Last edited:

bairdco

a guy who makes cool bikes
Aug 18, 2009
living the dream in southern california
i always wear mine. about the only time i don't is if i'm just running around the block tuning a bike or something. which is pretty stupid, because i'm flying up residential streets at 40+. easy way to get my clock cleaned.

at least my neighbors are cool about the noise...:)

Texhun

Aug 2, 2011