easy rear engine mount

GoldenMotor.com

bluenosegoat

Dec 29, 2009
arizona
I am new to this but had a heck of a time getting my rear engine mount figured out! The kit supplied mount simply wouldnt work with my larger diameter seat post tube. I tried a few things and came up with this (so far, I cant leave anything alone so I'm sure I'll make something different when the idea comes!). I went to Ace as they have the best selection of bolts and hardware in my area and got some grade 10.5 allen head bolts- pretty strong! then off to the scrap yard where i got a nice big piece of 1/4 in thick alluminum- very strong and light and most importantly easy to cut, drill and file. I had an automotive exhaust clamp in the junk box in the garage and it worked out great. The exhaust clamp was to big on its own but with the kits strap (bolt holes cut off) to help distribute the preasure on my chrome moly frame and a piece of heater hose brought the 1 1/2 in. clamp to just about perfect. Also found with this set up you can finely adjust your engine and back and forth for better chain adjustment. I just need a chain break tool to loose 1 half link and do away with the chain tensioner all together. All the harware here is cheap and very strong. I spent less than 6 bucks (figuring the clamp might be 2.50 if I didnt have one already) and have a big piece of alluminum to make more stuff!

Attachments

Last edited:

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Blue,