Should I buy this walmart bike?

GoldenMotor.com

Jun 7, 2010
on a bike
Ok guys with an eye to saving my neck Iam looking for a better bike and I was thinking about this one its $269.00: Hiland Eclipse 26" Mountain Bike:
•Features integrated gussets and a dynamic racing down tube
•Alloy frame with reinforced head tube
•Front suspension
•The Hiland Eclipse 26" Mountain Bike has 24 speeds
•Shimano EF60 alloy shifters
•Promax TX-119 alloy V brakes
•Shimano EF60 alloy, 2 finger brake levers
•Innova 26" x 1.95" Flow Mark HL performance tires
•AP5F full alloy front hub / AZER full alloy rear hub
•Double wall, alloy rims
•Promax alloy HB-T305 handlebars
•Promax alloy seat post with quick release
•Competition racing saddle
•Color: Brilliant blue and raven black

Attachments

Last edited:

Tim_B_172

Aug 26, 2009
Saint Joseph, MO
I'm no bicycle expert, but a lot of those features sound pretty good. Especially the double wall rims. Promax brakes are pretty good quality too in my experience.

Bikesnfire

Jul 17, 2010
PA
I have found Innova tires to be a very low end product. I use all Cheng Shin or Maxxis for my own bikes as well as customers' bikes that come into my shop. They have good quality throughout their whole tire line. Kenda also makes some good tires. But beware, they also make very low end stuff too. Did you see a name on the rear derailleur? You want a decent piece there. Some of the cheap ones are prone to self destruction. Otherwise, the specs you posted seem okay.

bairdco

a guy who makes cool bikes
Aug 18, 2009
living the dream in southern california
the question i ask myself before buying (or building) a bike, is "would i ride this bike without a motor?"

what i mean, is, is it a cool bike? does it have any style? is it comfortable?

if the answer to any of those questions is "No," then it's just one big motor mount.

the walmart bike you want, in my opinion, is almost as attractive as the cardboard box the motor comes in.

ferball

Apr 8, 2010
NH