How do you remove this crank arm?

GoldenMotor.com

biknut

Sep 28, 2010
Dallas
Does anyone know how to remove this crank arm? I want to maintenance my crank and I guess before I can I'll need to remove the crank arm. It looks like some kind of special nut with a keyhole in it.

scottmanesis

Dec 30, 2010
Austin, TX
My moutain bike has something similar on it. I just went outside and stuck a flat blade screwdriver in it and popped it off, it's just a dust cover of sorts on my bike. There is a regular bolt under the cover.

biknut

Sep 28, 2010
Dallas
My moutain bike has something similar on it. I just went outside and stuck a flat blade screwdriver in it and popped it off, it's just a dust cover of sorts on my bike. There is a regular bolt under the cover.
I'll have to check it out. I didn't even know it was just a dust cover. I've never worked on a bicycle crank before.

I just looked at some youtubes about removing crank arms. They all said it was a dust cover too. I guess I need to buy a puller tool too.

scottmanesis

Dec 30, 2010
Austin, TX
Mine wasn't threaded. I literally stuck in a flat head screwdriver in it and popped it right out, only held in by friction. Yours may differ.

corgi1

Aug 13, 2009
KCMO
next bike my neighbor has ,,,plastic dust cover and nut under the decorator cap

biknut

Sep 28, 2010
Dallas
You guys got it right. I discovered I have a plastic cap covering the bolt on the crank arm, I pulled it off and now I can see the crank.

I checked the motor tool but it doesn't fit my crank arm. The small end of the tool is too small, and the big end is too big. I think I need a 14mm crank arm tool.

biknut

Sep 28, 2010
Dallas
Now that my bike has the rear wheel up in the air I can feel there's something wrong with my crank. It's very notchy when I turn the crank arm. I think a bearing has failed. It wasn't like this before.

RebelHellbilly

Apr 22, 2009
Salisbury,North Carolina