Schwinn Vintage Board Tracker

GoldenMotor.com

sportscarpat

Bonneville Bomber the Salt Flat record breaker
Jun 25, 2009
california
Hi guys,
I am new to the motor bike word. I saw my first motor bike about a year ago in Santa Cruz, California, and just couldn't believe it. I remember saying "that bike has an engine on it"! I have always been a Schwinn fan and I had worked for years as a fabricator. I figured I could put an engine on an old Schwinn cruiser and fab any of the parts I would need. Then I saw the board track bikes with the in frame tanks and knew I wanted to build one. So I kept my eyes open and found a 1950 Schwinn Panther frame and original springer fork. The build began........

Attachments

sportscarpat

Jun 25, 2009
california
I picked this type of frame, a Schwinn Straightbar as they are called , because a tank would fit nicely below the top tube and give the bike the board track look I was after. I quickly threw the bike together with any 26" bike parts I had laying around the shop just to get an idea of what this bike was going to look like. I mocked up a gas tank in cardboard.

Attachments

Last edited:

bairdco

a guy who makes cool bikes
Aug 18, 2009
living the dream in southern california
cool, took ya long enough.;)

don't hesitate to ask norm, joe, or 2 door about any chain tensioner problems you might have...

(c'mon, i'm kidding...)

if you can fab up your own gas tank, you could make it look like the original horn tank. that'd be neat-o.

sportscarpat

Jun 25, 2009
california
While worked continued on the tank I started researching engine choices. I quickly discovered that in California you cannot run over 49cc and still be considered legal, so I bought the 80cc of course. I went with the Grubee because it was available in California as it comes with EPA certification. EPA legal but over the 49cc limit? Whatever. I mounted the engine.

Attachments

sportscarpat

Jun 25, 2009
california