Chain jumps off what to do?????

GoldenMotor.com

zuidelyjke

May 15, 2012
utah
Hi I'm new to this but i just installed my grubee GT5 on a 10 speed frame and i've broken two chains now and am out of ideas of how to fix this problem. Has anyone else experienced this? I'm a pretty good do it your selfer and every thing lines up and about a 1/2 of play using the tensioner wheel that i am seriously considering eliminating the tensioner all together. Any one have any other ideas. :-||:-||:-||

wheelbender6

Sep 4, 2008
TX
Just a guess. See if your tensioner is tilted in such a way as to actually derail the chain. I had leaned my tensioner away from the chain stay a bit to prevent the chain from rubbing it. I figured it out by looking down on the chain, perpendicular to the ground.

Greg58

May 1, 2011
Newnan,Georgia
Welcome, make sure the engine is mounted solid to the frame without any movement whatever. Then install the chain and tighten it so that it has about 1/2 movement on the top or return chain, then hold or lock in the clutch and roll the bike watching the chain as it rides over the tensioner. If it runs inthe center of the tensioner that's good if not roll it backwards and see if it moves to the other side of the tensioner, if so you wil either align the tensioner or bend it slightly to make the chain roll over straight. It takes some time to wear off the rough edges of some sprockets , just keep an eye on the tightness and alignment. Good luck

motovator

May 16, 2012
Southern Maine
Hi I'm new to this but i just installed my grubee GT5 on a 10 speed frame and i've broken two chains now and am out of ideas of how to fix this problem. Has anyone else experienced this? I'm a pretty good do it your selfer and every thing lines up and about a 1/2 of play using the tensioner wheel that i am seriously considering eliminating the tensioner all together. Any one have any other ideas. :-||:-||:-||