Newbie with lots of questions

GoldenMotor.com

shortys513

Apr 19, 2011
San Francisco
Hi all, I'm brand new to this.

I was browsing Craigslist today and stumbled upon a sweet motorized bicycle and have since spent 6 of the last 7 hours on this forum. A productive day at work by my standards.

I have a lot of questions, most were answered by the good old search function but some of them are maybe too basic. Bear with me.

1. I like pedaling a bicycle, can I pedal sometimes, motor sometimes? What specifications would be necessary for that? What would that be called exactly?

2. I live in San Francisco and don't want to pedal up these hills, will some of the standard motors be able to get me up them? (180 lbs)

3. 2 strokes can be upgraded to a multiple speed transmission but are stock single speed? 4 strokes are stock mutliple speed?

4. Does engine transmission share bicycle transmission if I want to pedal sometimes and motor sometimes (same sprockets?)

5. Are there total newbie threads that I haven't found that explain how to pick a bike and a kit and all that stuff? Like an FAQ?

6. Why do chains always have so much slack? Could I not break and re-link a properly fitted chain?

Thanks in advance! I can't wait to build a motorized bicycle! My motorcycles take up too much space.

DaveC

Jul 14, 2010
Boise, ID
Hi and welcome, I'll take a stab at this ;)

1) Yes, you can pedal and it's called "pedaling" heh. Biggest problem is there is something always turning in the motor with all it's attending drag. Yet it beats walking home if you have to :p Proper clutch adjustment can help by not dragging.

2) Yep, I'd say just get a bigger-than-stock rear gear. Stock gear in my kit was a 41. Before the thing ever rolled I had a 56 on it due to hills and a 28" tire. A good hill climbing gear for stock motors is like a 48, maybe a 50. You can't have speed and hillclimbing in the same bike without a shift kit.