Hey, Gang,

GoldenMotor.com

Jitenchakun

Apr 14, 2011
USA
I'm Jitenchakun. It kinda means "Bicycle-Boy" in Japanese, though I'm a native of California. (I just like Japanese culture too.)

I'm a big bicycle rider! Actually, I've always been a pure "sweat & muscle" cyclist, but now, since I'm a mechanical designer & a machinist, I wanna get creative. I wanna build crazy cool stuff, like a recumbent with a stirling engine in the back, or maybe even a nutating disk engine that runs on steam. Lots of ideas.

I'm here looking for wisdom & inspiration. Where can I read up on augmenting a pedal-driven system with motor-power in a smooth & efficient manner? Has anyone built a steam-aided cycle? What about chemical rocket boosters? (Is that over the top? :p)

In any case, I've already been finding good info here since this morning. I look forward to hearing thoughts from all of you with more experience than me.

Best,

Jack
usflg

Jitenchakun

Apr 14, 2011
USA
how bout a recumbant qith a pulse jet
LOL, it's not as crazy as it sounds! There's a few guys out there making hydrogen peroxide thrusters for bicycles. Plus, tacking on a few large hobby rocket engines would be very simple, even though they burn out & need to be replaced after each boost sequence.

I may end up starting with that kit McBikerton is looking to buy; much more straigthtforward. Yet I'm really kinda itching for the tinkering end of machining a simple engine in the shop & testing it out on my rig. Probably a single-cylinder free-piston air-cooled stirling engine running on propane. I could kmanage that, I think...

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Welcome to the forum. You've come to a good place for help and guidance. Don't be turned off by some of the comments you might get. There are a lot of us who can't see past our noses when it comes to innovation. You have some high goals. I hope you have success.