Dumb Newbie (Please Help) Axle Question

GoldenMotor.com

ChuckleHead

Sep 29, 2014
East Coast \ East Bay
This is my first build....

So I'm swapping most everything off an existing bike that I din't build to another....

At first glance the frames look similar (Schwinn Beach Cruisers)

But...... The dropouts on the new frame are 5 1\2 inches wide... the old frame dropouts were closer together (4 1\2 inches)

Long story short I end up with this problem

I assume it's possible to break the hub down and simply use a longer axle?

If so.... is it just a standard threaded rod... something I can get at Lowes or Home Depot?

What are the spec's ?

Any help greatly appreciated

Attachments

maniac57

Old, Fat, and still faster than you
Oct 8, 2011
memphis Tn
Honestly, if it were mine, I'd simply bend the stays closer together and bolt it up.
I widen them regularly, other direction works just as well.

bluegoatwoods

Jul 29, 2012
Central Illinois
I'll give you a bit more perspective. (If you already know this....then....never mind :))

You're using a single speed, coaster brake type wheel/hub and putting it on a frame that was meant for a multi chain ring/derailleur type wheel/hub.

The hubs that are meant for multi chain rings, called "Freewheel" hubs are wider than single speed hubs. So that means that the axles are longer. And that also means that the dropouts in the frames of multi-geared bikes are wider.

Maniac's advice about bending the frame in to fit your new axle is just fine. It ought to work for you.

But if you follow WheelBender's advice to get a new axle, then you'll have a chance here to practice another skill you're going to need. You see, those coaster brake hubs, in this application, need a bit of attention.