Do shifter kits help to ride up hills?

GoldenMotor.com

jamesrg

Mar 30, 2011
Provo UT
Hi! I'm new at these motorized bikes. I purchased a generic Chinese two stroke slant head 66cc kit online. I've had it installed and riding for a couple of months now.
It doesn't go quite as fast as i had hoped. about 23-24 mph tops. on flat ground. And it doesn't have enough power even pedaling to get up a steep hill.
The bike I put the motor on is a non alloy steal frame cruiser and I weigh about 220 so weight is a factor.
Ive been looking at purchasing a shift kit. My question is does the shifter jack shaft kit help in top speed? Or more importantly. really help to get up the hills and how steep? Also is it worth the $150 for standard or $200 for HD kit. Witch one should i purchase?
Any thoughts, thanks!
.shft.

give me vtec

Jun 19, 2009
SoCal
it will definitely help to maximize the output of the engine. the big gears help climb hills and the small gears are good for speed.

I always buy the hd kit, i wouldn't buy the standard kit because the freewheel is junk. only buy the hd deluxe kit if you don't have the tools.

BarelyAWake

Jul 21, 2009
Maine
...It doesn't go quite as fast as i had hoped. about 23-24 mph tops. on flat ground. And it doesn't have enough power even pedaling to get up a steep hill...

...My question is does the shifter jack shaft kit help in top speed? Or more importantly. really help to get up the hills and how steep?
vtec is on the money, shiftkits & gears help give ya the best of both worlds by providing low gears for hills & high for max cruise speed...

However, I did wanna mention that simply having the ability to utilize more than one gear wont actually "help in top speed" as in your maximum achievable speed. If the final gearing is the same, it doesn't matter how many gears ya used to get there - that simply improves acceleration, it very much helps "get up the hills" however and "how steep" is limited only by how low ya wanna gear it.