Spark Plug to Ignition Coil Bootie Dilemma (can't connect)

GoldenMotor.com

Zoomie

Dec 8, 2010
Chicago, IL
Ordered and received a GRUBEE 2010 SkyHawk GT5 66cc/80cc Angle Fire Slant Head Bike Motor Kit today.

I'm slowly and carefully installing it on to my mountain bike. I have one question for now (I'm a PC tech - NOT a mechanic, though reasonably mechanically inclined.)

The spark plugs I received appear to be a wrong fit for the included ignition coil bootie. Both spark plugs appear to be the type that either fit into a sleeve or allow a tiny threaded post to be inserted (not included? - cant find)

The ignition coil bootie seems to be looking for a spark plug that has a threaded post on top. The diagrams / photos show a spark plug that has a threaded post on top - that's not what I received.

Side Note: Kit said this all should take me about 3 hours to install the whole kit. I'm taking my sweet ole' time (in midst of Chicago winter) and I'll be happy if I have the motor installed and running in 3 weeks ;-)

Zoomie

Dec 8, 2010
Chicago, IL
Thanks, yea, this did dawn on me so I took a pair of pliers to the tip of the spare (counter clockwise) and I couldn't get it to budge - didn't want to damage it so I stopped. Will try it again now that you gave me the tip... Thanks ;-)

Zoomie

Dec 8, 2010
Chicago, IL
Ok, great! Got it... Solved... Thank you very much ;-)

dance1

Yup, I'm a PC tech delving into adding a motor to my bike in between building web sites...

I feel like that guy who called up PC tech support and asked how to get a replacement retractable coffee cup holder because his cracked off. The phone tech asked WHAT :confused: coffee cup holder... ? The guy said "you know, the one that you push the little button and the coffee cup holder comes out... then you push the button again to stow it..." Well the tech figured out the guy was actually talking about his CD-ROM drive.... ;-)​

Last edited:

skiball83

Nov 18, 2010
Chicago