Motor kit stopped running all of a sudden.

GoldenMotor.com

funderb

Oct 22, 2010
Florida
Hello,

So I'm new here, and am already posing problems...
I have been running the Daemonbikes "80cc" 2 stroke for a couple months,
and its been running perfectly.

I was riding today, immediately following a carb cleanout, only about 2 miles for a test run.
and as I pull up to the apartment, all of a sudden, the motor stops running.

Right now I have no explanation.

Here are the symptoms:

Upon attempt to start:
Engine turns over and goes putputputputput....
but you can feel its only being dragged along by my fat butt.

Upon evaluation:

Spark - Visible in the day time

Compression - Just under 150psi (149 abouts...)

Fuel delivery - All lines open, Carb sprays fuel/oil mist out the throat when the engine is turning over.
Carb- All seals tight, fuel ports open and clear.

Piston- also stays wet with fuel.

> removed head to inspect, piston clean, cylinder walls clean, no scoring.

Right now I'm running 16-1 fuel mix. It had been running great up until this point.

(Mods- Opened up intake ports a little, exhaust port a little. Got top speed up to 35.)

I'm thinking of replacing the stock slide carb with a "Racing" carb. Mostly in hopes that it isn't so...
crude....

Anyone know what the deal is? I'm stumped.

Snogcel

Aug 31, 2009
Westminster, CO
Hello!
You might try a new spark plug - I've had the experience of the plug appearing to fire OK when hanging out in the open air, but refusing to fire under compression. It may not fix it, and if it doesn't, at least you've eliminated one more easy thing.
Good Luck!

funderb

Oct 22, 2010
Florida
I've tried two, one just began returning no spark at all.... so I think its the CDI that quit on me.

First plug was stock, it lights up, but only at fairly high rpm.
Second was a bosch platinum 2pt plug that used to light up no problem.
doesn't light at all any more. :mad:
Does that sound like the CDI or the mags? (or, mag...)

bairdco