New older guy

GoldenMotor.com

boofbike

Apr 5, 2013
Piute County, Ut.
Hi All,
I just signed up here to learn more about these engine powered bicycles. I have been riding bicycles on and off since 1954. I always love anything on 2 wheels, which includes motorcycles too. When my oldest son was about 5 years old, I modified (lowered) an old Junker 20 inch Schwinn, Stingray bike so he could ride it. I made it look like an old board tracker. In the 70s I worked as an R&D tech. for "Triple A Motorcycle Accessories" in Gardena, CA. We did all the prototype work for Kawasaki's All aluminum frame 20" racer motocross bicycles and eventually manufactured them too. I also have ridden motorcycles since 1963. I still ride motorcycles. I have been interested in these motorized bicycles for about 20 years, now that I am retired (Worked as a Tool & Die Maker) I want to build a 4 stroke engine powered bicycle. Probably use it to make trips back and forth to the liquor store, Dang, I just remembered there are no liquor stores here in Utah. At least not like the ones in California. I want to make my motorized bike look retro styled, like the old timer early engine powered bicycles from the 1900s. Anyway I am looking forward to learning a lot from all you experts out there. dnut

Attachments

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Welcome Boof,
You've found the right place to enjoy and share this quirky hobby. Lots of experience here to draw from if you need help or advice.
Good luck, have fun and ride safe.

Tom

paul

Dec 23, 2007
Kalamazoo, MI
welcome to the wonderful world of motorized bicycles. for me its the fountain of youth. i think you are going to find this a passion more then a hobby. great to have you with us

wheelbender6

Sep 4, 2008
TX
Welcome to the forum. I was going to say that you need a Goldwing to ride to the liquor store in Utah until I read your entire post. That CBX is a real monster.

boofbike

Apr 5, 2013
Piute County, Ut.