70cc DAX motor only going 15 mph need help

GoldenMotor.com

Skyline PDR

May 14, 2008
Hello eveyone, this is my first time posting I hope someone can help. My bike is only getting up to 15mph. I have tried a few things but it still not getting the full power. It is a dax 70cc. It starts up fine but when it gets to full throttle it just seems like it can go faster but something is holding it back. My next thing I guess I could do is clean the carb and gas tank.

Ilikeabikea

Jan 27, 2008
Ptown, Texas
Welcome to the forum, You'll like it here. Lots of motorized bicycle enthusiasts. Do you have an inline fuel filter between the tank and the carb? If you don't that would be the first thing I would try. You might try a different plug and plug wire. If that don't work let us know. It'll go faster than 15 mph when you get all the bugs worked out.......................

paul

Dec 23, 2007
Kalamazoo, MI
also make sure you do not have any air leaks to the bicycle motor from the carburetor. a way to check that is spray a little starter fluid around the intake manifold where the carburetor bolts on. just a little and if it revs up you know where the problem is

Bikeguy Joe

Godfather of Motorized Bicycles
Jan 8, 2008
up north now
Skyline- Welcome to the place.

Places to start- Check your spark plug- should be a chocolate brown, not oily and black or grey/white.

Double check the tightness of the manifold bolts and the carb clamp.

Post back here when you do those things and let us know what you find....we'll get yer' motor runnin'!

deacon

minor bike philosopher
Jan 15, 2008
north carolina
If i were a betting man I would bet on an air leak at the car manifold connection is by far the most common first problem with a build. It would also act as you describe.

Norman

LORD VADER Moderator
Jan 16, 2008
pampa texas