Ranger's Beginner's Safety Rules

GoldenMotor.com
Status
Not open for further replies.

ranger1100ky

Apr 15, 2010
Newport, KY
I just started riding a motor-bike on Wednesday of this week... and with plenty of scooter experience going in, I thought I'd throw my two cents worth in, based on the past couple of days of getting used to my new motorized bicycle.

Straight away, I'll say this... using a standard kit build... I don't recommend these machines for anyone who has an ego the size of Texas and a brain the size of a walnut. Make no mistake... if you're looking for a creative way to kill yourself in humiliating fashion... these motorized bicycles are a good way to go about it.

For anyone who is NEW to motorized bicycling, no matter whether you've got ions of experience on motorcycles or no experience... the key to surviving your first few days, is to TAKE IT SLOW AND EASY.

Just teaching yourself to clamp on that clutch handle BEFORE you hit the brakes, is a critical skill that could save you from spiking yourself right into the side (or worse, the front grill) of someone's car.

The other matter that 'taking it slow and easy' helps on, is that with these suckers, you REALLY have to be looking ahead and getting on that clutch and beginning your stop WELL in advance of the need to stop. You simply don't stop on a dime on these things... and if the ground's wet... that's even MORE true.

One last area where starting off your riding slow and easy, is that frankly, on a new build, you don't want to go blasting down the pike, only to have that chain come loose and wind up in your spokes, or worse, have that tension wheel bracket lean into your spokes to ruin your day and quite possibly result in some serious road rash or a busted head on your part. (To say nothing of how it'd screw up your bike!)

To put all this forward... here's my top 20 rules to live by on motorized bikes.