Welding newbie need advice

GoldenMotor.com

ferball

Apr 8, 2010
NH
I am new to welding, took some classes years ago and have forgotten most of it. I have a cheap HF Mig welder. It works great, but the welds are not pretty. My big question is this: The bike frames I have vary in material. one of the frames is an old french thing with nice heavy steel frame, I weld a walmart special with the thinner oversized tube to it and get crappy looking welds of questionable integrity. The problem is that the different gauge metals, if I set it hot enough for decent penetration of the french frame, it just melts the walmart tube, if I turn it down to for the walmart tube, then I don't get penetration on the french frame. any suggestions? I have been laying on the welds and grinding down, an it is ugly, but it seems to hold, but I figure someone might be able to give me some pointers for better welds and less grinding.

Venice Motor Bikes

Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles
Mar 20, 2008
Los Angeles, CA.
Sometimes you can just 'trigger' it... It's kinda like doing spot welds one at a time in a chain, letting each one cool for a few seconds before starting the next. The finished weld looks proper, 'like a stack of coins'.

Practice doing it for a while before trying it on a good frame.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Venice gives good advice. Trying to get good penetration when welding thin metals sometimes requires a stop-and-weld method. This means doing a short bead, stopping and then welding again. Practice on some scrap metal. Find some about the same thicknes of the project you're working on and give the weld-stop-weld method a try.
Running long or continous beads on thin material is hard and requires a lot of practice. The stop-and-go method will help.
Also on a MIG machine, the slower your wire feed speed, the hotter the weld. I don't know if your machine has an adjustable wire feed speed but try speeding it up for thinnner material.
Tom

DaveC