First OCC build

GoldenMotor.com

Mercman

Dec 27, 2011
Central VT
Guys, I'm new to this game but not to the world of two strokes. I saw a pic of an OCC build back in October, so decided to put one together, I bought an 66/80 kit from BikeBerryand found a decent OCC chopper with brakes front and rear. I went to "livefast" for the decent rear hub and sprocket. I found a good motor mount and exhaust on the "bay". Dual pull brake lever from "sick" and then a idler sprocket with bearing. I try to do my "projects" right the first time. Well, I finally got most of it together and while lightly lubing the gears, I noticed probably .045+" runout on the crank gear. I contacted Bike Berry and informed them of this problem. They told me to disassemble to motor and send them the crankshaft. After they received it and verify the "runout", they might send me a new crankshaft when they get them back in stock.
This is not what I wanted to here, and futher e-mail correspondance with their support dept. yielded nothing. I got pissed and ordered a new crankshaft from BGF. Got it in three days. I then opted to buy and complete new motor from them . Once again, delivered in four days. Then I saw they offered a complete motor lower end assembly for cheap, so I ordered it along with their racing carb with choke, pull start assy, coil assy, etc. Once again delivered in 4 days. All I can say is that BGF takes their business seriously and gets their shipments out fast. I have yet to get it all together, and hopefully with the normal treaking, it will run OK.
I can't recommend BikeBerry because they provide no customer support.
I realized that the quality of this Chinese stuff is sub par with probably a short life. But when you buy new, you expect to be treated fairly. I did pull the crank gear and examined the shaft. This motor should have never been sold. Anyhow, I really like this forum and glad that I joined.