The Basics

GoldenMotor.com

geohaydook

Oct 13, 2009
New Orleans
I am thinking about building one of these contraptions for commuting (2 miles a day) and light
erands. I see a lot of them in town and they look like a blast. However, before I jump in I do have some questions.
Are these kits really "Bolt on"? What can I really expect?
What is the best kit in therms of quality?
What is the best style frame to use as a base?
Any advice will be greatly appeciated.
BTW I am a former motorcycle mechanic so I know which end of the screwdriver to use.
Thanks again!

wes

Aug 17, 2009
Tucson Az
I recomend dax or zone 8 both have held up to the warranty and are very close in quality, and look at some of the pics posted on this forum, there are some nice mtn bikes, i ride a cruiser and love it,

BarelyAWake

Jul 21, 2009
Maine
IF you are very careful and choose a frame with not only enough clearance but is also the right shape - yes, it's a very simple bolt-on. The easiest bikes are those with the traditional triangle shape, this is getting harder to find nowadays what with oversized D-tubes and unusual bends. Grip shifts are also common, you can get around that with a thumb throttle tho. Pedal crank clearance can be a concern, needing about 4 1/4" between them to clear the motor - most fit fine.

All in all it's only the rear "clamshell" sprocket mount that is tedious in any way, you can skip that headache by pickin' up the Manic Mechanic Sprocket adapter;
SPROCKET ADAPTER

Although the supplied sprocket and mount is ...usable and many do - as a motorcycle mechanic you'd prolly be horrified by it heh