Re: heavy riders
Your state Virginia is really liberal as to what they consider a moped. If your motor is 50 cc or less, and you stay under 35 mph. Even if your 50 cc motor has a higher top speed the law sees it as a moped as long as you stay under 35 mph. If you go faster than 35 mph then they consider it to be a motorcycle. Mopeds don't need insurance, to register or a drivers license. You may ride on streets with a 45 mph or less posted speed limit. You must be at least 16 years old, wear a helmet and carry a valid ID. If your drivers license has been suspended for DUI, drugs or habitual offender you may not operate a moped on the public roadways.
I live in Tennessee and found a shift kit really helps. Suspension system will really help. I'm 6'2" and 230 lbs but was 280 lbs when I first started riding.
Land Rider Jerry