2 stroke straight pipe

GoldenMotor.com

crabdance

May 16, 2008
I'm new at all of this and I need to know if a straight pipe will hurt my 2 stroke engine? Are there things I have to watch out for or things I have to take into consideration? One of the reasons I wanted to try a straight pipe is the sound. I would like a lower throaty sound that I think a straight pipe would give. Can someone please shed some light on this subject. Are there good points and bad points?

thanks in advance

misteright1_99

Mar 21, 2008
Treasure Coast, Florida
What do you mean by a straight pipe? Just a lenght of pipe the same size the length of the run, with no "can" or muffler? On a two stroke engine your performance would suffer, there needs to be backpressure. On a four stoke it might not affect performance as much.

crabdance

May 16, 2008
What do you mean by a straight pipe? Just a lenght of pipe the same size the length of the run, with no "can" or muffler? On a two stroke engine your performance would suffer, there needs to be backpressure. On a four stoke it might not affect performance as much.
Hi misteright.... yea I was just talking about a length of pipe. Thanks for letting me know that performance would suffer. The reason that I'm wondering about all of this is that my next door neighbor is a great welder and said that he would make me one if we could come up with something to make. Can you point me in a direction? I need to know how to make a muffler!

I figure we can come up with a prototype and share it with a few friends and see how they like it and get some feedback. We just might have us the beginnings of a small muffler company lol...

I appreciate your input and help. And anyone else's too!

Ilikeabikea

Jan 27, 2008
Ptown, Texas