Do you have security?

GoldenMotor.com

NerpAngel

Sep 28, 2009
Ellensburg,WA
Hello everyone, I just wanted to start a thread asking you all what some of you use for locking up your bikes if you ever ride to city places. See I'm a college student up in Washington and I plan on riding my bike to classes some days, to the store every once and a while, etc... For those of you who lock up your bikes, what exactly do you do to feel safe? Maybe just wrap a cable around your bike to a bike rack or do you have some crazy gps locking tracking system? I know I love my bike just as much as the next person, and I'm sure there's people out there that would love to steal it. (Maybe I'm being paranoid :) )

Finfan

Aug 29, 2008
Tucson, AZ USA
I just have a cable lock but I make a point of locking it up in high traffic areas. I also have a padlock for my "trunk" that is bolted to my rear rack.

rbrtlndhl

Jan 27, 2010
La Crosse, WI
Hello everyone, I just wanted to start a thread asking you all what some of you use for locking up your bikes if you ever ride to city places. See I'm a college student up in Washington and I plan on riding my bike to classes some days, to the store every once and a while, etc... For those of you who lock up your bikes, what exactly do you do to feel safe? Maybe just wrap a cable around your bike to a bike rack or do you have some crazy gps locking tracking system? I know I love my bike just as much as the next person, and I'm sure there's people out there that would love to steal it. (Maybe I'm being paranoid :) )
OK people here's the thing. I have "some close friends" who know a LOT about locking systems, esp. for bikes. I am probably the person to come to for advice on this topic. Or at least, many of my friends are.

Bike lock types:
Standard Master Lock and Chain:
Bolt cutters make these useless. Bolt cutters are readily available.

Master Lock and Braided Cable: