First build: Genesis Onyx 29" cruiser

GoldenMotor.com

gobigkahuna

Apr 25, 2011
E NC
Thought I'd chronicle my first build and hopefully get some good feedback / advice to help me along. This is my first build, first cruiser I've ever owned, my first bike with coaster brakes and first under $500 bike I've bought (as an adult).

I received and assembled the bike yesterday and overall I think it's a decent bike and some things that I like include:

1. I like the looks of the bike, it's huge so it fits me fairly well (I'm 6'5" / 240lbs).

2. I like the huge frame and beefy overall look.

3. The ride seems fairly comfortable.

4. The price (currently $129 on line) is pretty hard to beat.

But there are some things I don't like and hope to fix / change:

1. I hate coaster brakes, so will at the very least add a front caliper (and hopefully rear as well).

2. The white chain and silver trimmed chain guard are ugly IMO so those will likely change.

3. The ride feels like I'm 6" too far forward, so I hope to add a layback seat post.

4. The goofy stickers on the rims had to go.

Some of the challenges I see for this build:

1. The aluminum frame means I'll have to reinforce the mounts. I'll probably buy some pieces of electrical conduit for this.

2. The oversized frame tubes mean that I'll have to buy / fabricate custom mounts.

3. The wheels are 48 spokes which means I'll have to be creative for the rear sprocket installation. I'll probably try a rag joint first, and then graduate to a better joint if that doesn't work out.

4. I'm not going to be able to use the stock sprocket, grips, or throttle that typically come with a kit as they won't fit this bike. I'm hoping one of the vendors will allow me to "swap out" some of the pieces rather than buy everything individually.

5. I'd rather use a more reliable motor but budget constraints may end up limiting my choices. Hopefully a used Morini 50cc magically appears on my doorstep some day soon. ;)