Huffy Santa Fe Motorized Bicycle

GoldenMotor.com

FreeWheeler

Jun 22, 2010
Maryland
I just picked up a Huffy Santa Fe in decent shape and am contemplating the next step. I'm new to all this after not even riding a bike for decades but you really dont forget how to ride. I tested it and it was smooth as silk, new tires and a new Schwinn seat. One pedal was kinda chewed up, but it pedaled smoothly. There is some surface rust on stuff like fenders and rims which is my first question.

I used to clean my bikes up with SOS pad and then car wax, what's the best way to clean em up?

I'll be searching motors soon, but first things first.

FreeWheeler

Jun 22, 2010
Maryland
Well, I went and did it and ordered a motor from THATS DAX after reading his expose on china motor myths.

This will be my first build and this site has provided alot of good info if I've digested it properly. The Santa Fe Huffy is listed as Plug and Play with these motors in one thread on here. I'll be chomping at the bit to git er done.

FreeWheeler

Jun 22, 2010
Maryland
Thanks fairracing31! I found one minor problem with the kickstand. I dont know if it is stock, but it takes an alllen wrench of unknown size and is all looose.

Dave31

Mar 1, 2008
Aztlán, Arizona
Thanks fairracing31! I found one minor problem with the kickstand. I dont know if it is stock, but it takes an alllen wrench of unknown size and is all looose.
I do know its a 5/16 will work, but I believe it is metric....8mm?

A little loctite helps to keep it from coming loose

Attachments

FreeWheeler

Jun 22, 2010
Maryland
Thanks fairracing31, you forced me to dig through the old pile of tools. I found one of those star shaped wrench heads - not exactly allen but it worked. I also found a box of old suspension parts and found something that might work as a front motor mount if needed. It fits the frame perfectly.

While I'm waiting for the motor, I might trim the dust cover too.

momentummotorgroup

Apr 10, 2009
grand rapids, michigan