chain line issues

GoldenMotor.com

taddthewadd

Mar 1, 2009
Visalia, California
I am almost done with this build and now I have a problem.

The engine chain is off alignment. I am using a top hat adapter to mount my sprocket to the rear hub where the brake disc would normally mount. It is offset so that the sprocket is almost touching the spokes of the rear wheel. It seems that it is not enough and when I rotate the rear wheel the chain keeps catching on the sprocket almost jumping off of the sprocket.

Either the drive gear in the engine needs to move to the left (away from frame) or the sprocket needs to move to the right (toward center of bike).

The amount the chain line is off seems to be enough that it isn't ridable. I really need your guys help. I am really frustrated since I have been building this bike for about 4 months and trying to do everything just right.

To give you an idea how close the sprocket is to the spokes the I measured the distance from the chain to the spoke and it was 1/4 of an inch which is really close.

I tried uploading pics but the pic size was too big and I am new to my new imac and cant figure out how to resize the pics.

Any ideas?

Venice Motor Bikes

Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles
Mar 20, 2008
Los Angeles, CA.
Use a file to bevel the sprocket teeth on one side so that the teeth feed into the chain without snagging on it! (^)

Bevel the side away from the spokes.

Nashville Kat

Apr 20, 2009
Jacksonville, Florida
No no- i would say to use spacers on the axle- the frame may take a little more between the stays, or space the axle more on the left motor sprocket side and less on the right side-

or if this is a coaster hub- then I don't have any experience- I'm not sure that spacers or washers can be used like on a trackkie or freewheel hub-