Brand new engine has hole in cylinder near stud. :(

GoldenMotor.com

Nomad

Aug 4, 2008
U.S.A.
Hi, I just received a so called 80cc engine from a vendor on Ebay,the cylinder has a hole about the size of a pencil eraser at one of the head bolt studs. Is this something I should be very concerned about? I am fairly new to this "hobby" and I'm not sure what to do about this. I did notice that the box was kinda roughed up when I got it and alot of the screws and hardware were sloshing around during shipping. I do have to say other than that, this engine looks a little nicer that the one I got from BGF, just looks like a better grade of "metal" I would appreciate any input from people that know about this issue with these little engines..

Thanks
Bob

~macaddict~

Jul 29, 2008
Do you think you could post a picture, to see the extent of the damage? Also how much did you pay for this kit.

Nomad

Aug 4, 2008
U.S.A.
Do you think you could post a picture, to see the extent of the damage? Also how much did you pay for this kit.
Thanks for the replies gentlemen. I Paid 105.00 plus 50 shipping about 155.00 total... Here are a few pics, lemme know what you think....

~macaddict~

Jul 29, 2008
Ok, well from the looks of the picture I think the hole doesn't go all the way through, make sure though. What I would do is contact the seller that gave it to you first and explain the situation and probably send him the picture you took. If you can't get it replaced, you might want to try sealing it with some "Fast Steel" which you should be able to find at a hardware store or auto store. Let us know what happens. BTW: What is the name of the seller?

~Mac~

Last edited:

misteright1_99

Mar 21, 2008
Treasure Coast, Florida