Crankshaft moves

GoldenMotor.com

David D.

Sep 12, 2010
California
Hi Norm, I am still kinda new to these little engines but this one seems to have a problem....it is a new engine (from flying horse) 66cc and when i took the cover off to grease the gears, the pinion gear was not aligned with the ring gear, was sticking out about an 1/8" so i pushed on it with my thumb and it moved back in place, it's not loose, the whole crankshaft moves...i took the cover off the mag to verifie this.... is this normal? will it cause me any problems down the road? how can i fix it? is there a thrust bearing or shims on the crankshaft? thanking you in advance,David

David D.

Sep 12, 2010
California
yea ... i could understand that with the cylinder off... piston would keep it centered when assembled.... this is the crankshaft... in a fully assembled engine....

David D.

Sep 12, 2010
California
yea it runs fine , no more vibration than my other engines... my concerne is that i may have a bearing spinning in the case, or the crank rubbing on the casting.... i hear noises in it , but i hear noise in all of them , as there is no way to set the gear lash, or properly lubricate them.... you there norm? little help with this one? really would be appreciated, thanking you in advance, David

Norman

LORD VADER Moderator
Jan 16, 2008
pampa texas
From what I've seen on these engines. Some have what look like a ring of wire that is used to set side to side play on the crank. The ring is placed in the bearing hole of the crank case then the bearing is put in place. the wire ring causes the bearing to not set as deep in the hole. Where you get these rings? Beats me. You could use a very thin washer with an outside dia. the same as the bearing and the id. just enough to allow the bearing to shoulder against it.